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Noncontributory Plan

15. Am I entitled to any other benefits after
     I retire?

You will receive a post retirement allowance,
which is an automatic annual increase of 2.5%
of your basic pension beginning July 1 of the
calendar year following your retirement and on
each July 1 thereafter.  This allowance is designed
to help offset the rising cost of living and has
no ceiling.

As an ERS retiree, you may also be eligible for
health benefit coverage.  Since ERS does not
administer this program, you will need to contact
your Health Plan Administrator for eligibility and
enrollment information.



• administers a retirement and survivor
  benefits program for State and County
  government employees;
• collects retirement contributions from State
  and County government employers, and
  Contributory and Hybrid Plan members;
• provides pre-retirement counseling services;
• conducts disability hearings and appeals;
• reviews claims for retirement, disability
  and death benefits, and certifies these
  benefits for payments;
• processes pension checks to retirees and
  beneficiaries;
• accounts for and safeguards assets in the
  ERS investment portfolio; and
• invests funds to help finance this program.

The Employees’ Retirement System of Hawaii
(ERS) was established in 1925 to provide
retirement allowances and other benefits to
Hawaii State and County government employees.
The ERS is directed by a Board of Trustees with
certain administrative areas controlled by the
State of Hawaii Department of Budget and
Finance. The ERS:

2. Am I required to be a member of the ERS?
YES. If you are a full-time, part-time (50% FTE
or more), permanent, or temporary (more than
3 months) employee of the State or County,
Hawaii law requires you (except for elected
officers) to become a member of the ERS as a
condition of your employment.

3. How much must I contribute to the ERS?
With the Noncontributory Plan, you do not have
to contribute anything to the ERS so no
contributions will be deducted from your salary.

1. What is the Employees’ Retirement
    System?

4. How much does my employer contribute
    to the ERS?

Your employer currently contributes 15% of your
compensation. Employer contributions along
with ERS’ investment earnings are used to pay
retirement benefits to retirees and beneficiaries.

5. What is service credit and how do I earn it?
Service credit is the length of time you work for
the State or County government while a member
of the ERS and it determines not only the
amount of your retirement benefits, but also
when you will be eligible for retirement. Service
is credited on a monthly basis. If you are
employed for 15 or more calendar days in any
month (14 calendar days in February), you will
receive one month of service credit.

If you have 60 or more days of unused sick
leave when you retire and leave government
service in good standing, you will receive an
additional month of service credit for every 20
days of unused sick leave. Any balance of 10 or
more days will provide an additional month of
service credit.

Service credit provided by unused sick leave is
used to increase the amount of your retirement
benefit but cannot be used to meet eligibility
requirements for retirement.

6. Can I lose service credit?
YES. You will lose service credit if you leave
government service before you earn 10 years
of credited service.

However, if you return to work by December 31
of the year following the year you leave, no
service will be lost.



7. Can I acquire additional service credit
   towards my retirement?

YES. You can acquire credit for specific types of
service.  Generally, this is for previous service
rendered as an employee of the State or County
that you are currently not credited with, or any
leave of absence without pay for professional
improvement.

Maternity leaves prior to July 1, 1973, and active
military service may also be credited, subject to
certain provisions and limitations.

You must file a claim with the ERS, and service will
be credited at no cost.

8. What are the eligibility requirements and
   benef its for a service retirement?

Regular Retirement
   • Age 62 with 10 or more years of credited
     service
                              OR
   • Age 55 with 30 or more years of credited
     service

Early Retirement
   • Age 55 with at least 20 years of credited service
     but less than 30 years of credited service
   • Benefits are reduced by 6% for each year under
     age 62

Vested Retirement (terminate prior to age 62)
   • Age 65 with 10 or more years of credited service
                              OR
   • Age 55 with 30 or more years of credited service
                              OR
   • Age 55 with 20 – 29 years of credited service,
     benefits are reduced by 6% for each year
     between age 55 and 62

10.  How does part-time service affect my
      retirement?

Whether you work on a full-time (100% FTE) or
part-time basis (minimum 50% FTE), for each month
you work, one month of service will be credited
towards meeting the minimum eligibility
requirements to retire (see question #8).

However, for benefit calculation purposes, your
part-time service as well as your part-time base
salary will be converted to the full-time equivalent
of the position you occupy.  For example, 12 months
of 50% part-time service with a base salary of $1,250

Your benefit will consist of a pension for life based
on the following formula:
              1.25% x years of service x AFC
               (Average Final Compensation)
Example:
   • 30 years of service and a monthly AFC of
     $2,500
   •1.25% x 30 years = 37.5% x $2,500 = $937.50
   • Monthly maximum allowance of $937.50

The actual amount of your lifetime pension depends
on your AFC, your credited service and the retirement
option you select when you retire.

Please note that unused sick leave cannot be used
to meet the minimum eligibility requirements.

9. How is my AFC determined?
AFC (average final compensation) is the average of
your three highest years of earnings excluding any
lump sum vacation pay if you began employment
on January 1, 1971, or thereafter. If your employment
began before January 1, 1971, your AFC will be the
average of your three highest years, or your five
highest years of earnings including lump sum
vacation pay, whichever is greater.  Federal law
limits the amount of annual earnings that may be
used for computing AFC.  This limit is subject to
change.  For 2009, the limit is $245,000.

Sewer workers, water safety officers, and emergency
medical technicians may retire with 25 years of
credited service prior to age 55 (without an age
reduction), subject to certain provisions and
limitations.



To qualify for ordinary disability retirement:
   • You must be employed, or on approved leave
     of absence without pay at the time your
     application is filed;
   • You must have at least 10 years of credited
     service excluding sick leave credit; and
   • The ERS Medical Board must find that you are
     permanently disabled.

To qualify for job-related (service-connected)
disability retirement:
   • Your employer must file an accident report
     with the Department of Labor and Industrial
     Relations and provide the ERS with a copy;
   • An application for job-related (service-connected)
     disability retirement must be filed within two
     years of your accident or the date workers’
     compensation benefits stop; and
   • The ERS Medical Board must find that you are
     permanently disabled for your job due to an
     accident while you were working that was not
     due to your willful negligence.

(service-connected) accident, you are entitled to
a pension of 35% of your AFC for life. Accidents
prior to July 1, 2004, have a different benefit
formula.

11.  What if I become disabled?
If you become disabled, you can apply for ordinary
or job-related (service-connected) disability
retirement.

13. Are there any death benef its if I die while
     I’m employed?

If your death is not job related (service-connected),
and you have at least 10 years of credited service
when death occurs, your spouse or reciprocal
beneficiary and your dependent children can
receive a monthly benefit. This benefit is payable
to your spouse or reciprocal beneficiary until
remarriage or re-entry into a new reciprocal
beneficiary relationship and to your dependent
children until they attain age 18.

If you are eligible to retire when death occurs,
your spouse or reciprocal beneficiary will be
eligible to receive a lifetime pension.

If your death is due to a job-related (service-
connected) accident, there is no minimum service
credit requirement. Your spouse or reciprocal
beneficiary will receive a monthly benefit until
remarriage or re-entry into a new reciprocal
beneficiary relationship.

per month will be converted to 6 months of full-
time service at $2,500 per month and likewise, 12
months of 75% part-time service with a base salary
of $1,875 per month will be equal to 9 months of
full-time service at $2,500 per month.

12.  What kind of benef its am I entitled to if I
      become disabled?

If you are determined to be permanently disabled
and you have at least 10 years of credited service,
you are entitled to an ordinary disability pension
for life. The benefit formula is the same as for
regular retirement (without an age reduction).

Regardless of credited service, if you are
permanently disabled as a result of a job-related

14. Am I entitled to any benefits if I am no
     longer employed?

YES.  You are entitled to benefits if you are credited
with 10 or more years of service when you leave
government service.  You are vested and
depending on your years of service, you can apply
for retirement benefits as early as age 55.  If you
have 10 but less than 20 years of credited service
when you leave, you must wait till age 65.

NO.  You are not entitled to benefits if you have
less than 10 years of credited service when you
leave government service and you do not return
to work.
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