ERS Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Employees’ Retirement System of the State of Hawaii, with certain areas of administrative control vested in the State Department of Budget and Finance.

Four of the eight members on the Board are elected by the membership: two general employees, a teacher and a retiree. Three members are citizens of the State, one of whom is an officer of a bank authorized to do business in the State or a person of similar experience, who are not employees and are appointed by the Governor. The State Director of Finance is an ex-officio member by statute.

The current members of the ERS Board of Trustees are:

Board Member       Date Term Began Date Term Ends
Ms. Catherine K.Y. Chan  January 2, 2016  January 1, 2022
Mr. Patrick Frane  November 19, 2013  January 1, 2018
Ms. Jackie Ferguson-Miyamoto  January 2, 2014  January 1, 2020
Mr. Emmit Kane  January 2, 2014  January 1, 2020
Mr. Colbert M. Matsumoto  January 2, 2013  January 1, 2019
Mr. Jerry Rauckhorst  January 2, 2014  January 1, 2020
Mr. Vincent Barfield  August 11, 2011  January 1, 2017
Ex Officio:  
Mr. Wesley K. Machida  December 27, 2014  December 3, 2018