The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Employees’ Retirement System of the State of Hawaii, with certain areas of administrative control vested in the State Department of Budget and Finance.

Four of the eight members on the Board are elected by the membership: two general employees, a teacher and a retiree. Three members are citizens of the State, one of whom is an officer of a bank authorized to do business in the State or a person of similar experience, who are not employees and are appointed by the Governor. The State Director of Finance is an ex-officio member by statute.

The current members of the ERS Board of Trustees are:

Board Member ElectedDate Term BeganDate Term Ends
Dr. Catherine ChanJanuary 2, 2022January 1, 2028
Mr. Emmit Kane (Chair)January 2, 2020 January 1, 2026
Dr. Genevieve Gines LeyJanuary 2, 2024 January 1, 2030
Mr. Bennett YapJanuary 2, 2020 January 1, 2026
Appointed Board MemberDate Term BeganDate Term Ends
Mr. Vincent BarfieldJanuary 2, 2017January 1, 2023*
Mr. Lance MizumotoJuly 27, 2021January 1, 2026
Ex Officio Board MemberDate Term BeganDate Term Ends
Mr. Luis SalaveriaDecember 5, 2022December 7, 2026

August 2023 Wildfires: Information and Latest Updates